The Last Piece of my Heart by Paige Toon

img_-e28jx6

I came home on Monday afternoon after having issues with my wisdom teeth removal and I arrived home to this lovely unexpected book post from the lovely folk at Simon and Schuster.

I’ve read a couple of books by Paige Toon and enjoyed them, my favourite being ‘Thirteen Weddings’. Plus I had seen this book on Twitter and had heard good things. Since getting a bit more involved on Twitter, I have discovered all sorts of new books that I wouldn’t have ordinarily have thought to have read. The wonder of Twitter!

I read the back of the book and discovered it was mainly set in Cornwall (which is always a big YES in my eyes). This is the synopsis:-

‘Meet Bridget, a successful travel journalist with ambitions to turn her quirky relationship blog into a novel. But, after numerous rejections from publishers, she accepts an alternative proposition: Nicole Dupre died leaving behind a bestselling novel and an incomplete sequel, and the family need someone to finish it. Bridget is just thankful to have her foot in the publishing door. But as she gets to know Nicole’s grieving family, and the woman behind the writing, Bridget’s priorities begin to change …’

I started to read the first chapter just to get a feel for the book and I was pulled in and couldn’t stop. I read this book at every opportunity and loved how real the characters seemed. I was delighted to also read mentions of other characters from other Paige Toon books, namely Thirteen Weddings – a lovely touch.

I enjoyed the journey this book took me on enjoying hearing about the characters and how they evolved. The setting was perfect and I loved the descriptions of the locations, you could almost feel the sand between your toes and the sun beating down on you. You actually feel joy when Charlie starts laughing (Nicole’s widow) and how he starts to come out of his shell whilst also feeling utter heartbreak for him whilst he is still clearly grieving for this lost wife and trying to cope and look after their baby daughter, April.

The interactions with Bridget and April were what made the book for me. I could feel her joy at watching this little baby become a walking toddler who holds everyone’s heart.
I was really sad when I finished this book but enjoyed every second of it and am really glad that I started to read that first chapter.

Author: Broadbean's books

After thinking about this for some time, I have set up a blog! This is mainly to attempt to read my excessive collection of books! Let the fun begin.....

2 thoughts on “The Last Piece of my Heart by Paige Toon”

Leave a Reply

